Ally

Our (almost) Final Goodbye

Posted on: November 22, 2008

DSC00677.JPG

(4E3 along with our mentors for Mother Tongue, Math (Additional and Elementary), Geography and English)

Prom came approximately four days after my last O Level paper. I tried to keep my appearance hushed (quite nutty of me to do so), but it was for the better. I did second guessed my initial dressing (of three quarter jeans and a simplistic dressy top), which caused me to change my entire get-up. Except for the shoes.

Ours took place at Hilton Furama City Centre, at the edge of Chinatown.

Thanks to Bang Yan’s dad, I was chauffeured to the event.
Much love!


DSC00661.JPG
(Bang Yan, looking superbly dapper. Yes, and decked out in a million dollar power suit! He’s the man.)

Upon entering Furama (we entered through the shopping centre instead), we were appalled by the grimy and dingy interiors. A sudden thought struck me, “do tourists even shop in here?” I guess we took the lift we took was also different from the rest. Considering there was a proper main lobby… (from the hotel)

Let’s see. Different entrance. Check. Different elevator. Check. What else might there be…

And yes. The interiors (of the elevator) was equally dingy. Creepy in a god-knows-what-people-do-in-there sort of way.

Surprisingly, lo and behold, the elevator bell ding!ed, and the doors slid open to reveal… a marble wall. Okay, a little maneuvering led to the main “reception desk”, where Miss Chew and Miss Ang were seated, taking the attendance.

Standing by the reception desk, Miss Ang cheerfully grinning at me, while Miss Chew asked, “Alyssa… Card? (invitation card)” I think. Everything is a blur to me now.

(keep in mind that this is the best recap i have)

After waiting for my schoolmates to snip a strip from my invitation card which reads my serial number for the lucky draw that is to take place during prom, I looked around nervously.

I was lost. Utterly lost. In a sea of schoolmates. dressed in something other than our standard uniform…

I stood around with the guys and tried to remain as calm as possible. In the distance, I saw Mr Bambang (in black), while Mrs Peng’s (she was wearing contact lenses, and a dress. a dressy dress.) voice rung inches away from from me. Said hi to Mrs Peng, and probably cowered back to a spot before the grand doors to the grand ballroom swung open.

Jeremy was flying all about the place that I simply could not grab him to my ole faithful companion for the graduation tea (our prom), so I ended up sitting next to Bang Yan at a table assigned to our class.

Eventualy, I migrated to another table when more guys joined the table. Guys and gals were separate entities. The only exception being Chew Yi and Wei Jie being stuck to ours. They hadn’t a choice. The boys table ran out of seats for them.

DSC00673.JPG

(our table shot. both nominees for Most Elegant and Well-groomed Hillgrovian came from our very table!)

The event kicked off (in a grand ballroom, which was not the least huge, as suggested, grand.) with Mrs Yeow and her welcoming speech. A catwalk ensued, with each class nominating two deserving individuals for the Most Elegant chick and Most Well-Groomed guy.

Pei Shan and Chew Yi graced the stage on our behalf.


DSC00657.JPG
(Ah Shan jie, our prom queen/most elegant babe and I)

Soon after, it was presentation after presentation from classes, tributing the special moments all of us had in school.
Admittedly, our class video had my eyes nearly welling up in tears when Miss Tan’s (Hui Min) photograph of her at our farewell party (to her) flashed for seconds in the video.

It was until the second lucky draw (there were twenty prizes to be won, so they broke it up into two segments, ten each) that our class performed an original composition by Lina.
Technical glitches caused aplenty of delays.

Hence I warmed up the moment phototaking was in process, which all of us running from table to table, frantically documenting each and everyone of each other, whether in photo or video.

DSC00635.JPG
(Zi Ya! You and your infectious laughter is one to be missed.)


DSC00642.JPG
(Lina, our homegrown musical talent of a girl. Pretty too. However, under all these facades… She’s is one energetic gal!)

DSC00645.JPG
(Babe-licious Giovanna. Don’t deny this.)

DSC00644.JPG
(Avalyn! My xiao da. She’s adorable like that. You should have seen the dress she came in, stunning!)

DSC00643.JPG
(AHEMAHEM Matthew lover alert. She complimented this photo to be the first best photo taken of her. :D)

DSC00646.JPG
(Jess’s such a sweetie. Will miss her clumsy talk.)

DSC00648.JPG
(Shu Ting, dressed glamourously, and I. we love to poke fun of each other. always.)

DSC00649.JPG
(tiffany! looking kawaii-neh in her japanese schoolgirl outfit. most unique style for the night. truly.)

DSC00651.JPG
(Britney girlfriend! Otherwise known as Nicole (scherzinger). This woman was camera-ready all the time. Will miss you! In the ayer. Remember that.)

DSC00653.JPG
(Elaine! pal of a pal. miss you, always.)

DSC00655.JPG
(Wei Lun, the cow who loves his grass raw. he’s not as serious as he looks. you should see him when he’s with the guys and in class, total madness.)

DSC00656.JPG
(from left to right: Sui Hang, Joakim and I. the two crazies in class. one rathers be called xiao hang while the other persistently calls me professor shrimp. response: amused, and unamused respectively.)

DSC00658.JPG
(Me, Jourdan, our resident joker, and Terence, the guy with a few words but humourous in the most simplest of ways ever.)

DSC00659.JPG
(hey! Adrian, the boy I rarely talk to (shame on me), Jason (ditto, but we talk online now. furthermore, he looks real cool in shades. shock!), and I.)

DSC00660.JPG
(Choon Chor. Serious and crazy all at once.)

DSC00662.JPG
(Hui Kai! I met her in Math Olympiad. Adorable and friendly girl.)

DSC00664.JPG
(G-L-A-M-O-R-O-U-S say… Rachel!)

DSC00665.JPG
(Agnes and I. classy dress. envy! :P)

The sweetest offer came from Mr Bambang as I was just, by chance (i swear this was not planned), I was standing in his line of sight, so he beckoned to me and said, “Hey Alyssa! I want to take a photo with you.”


Bb and i.jpg
(Left: me. Right: Mr Bambang. Most creatively/artistically shot photo of the afternoon.)

Okay, he’s a nice teacher and friendly one too. If anyone told you he was fierce and intimidating (that’s maybe when you anger him), they are obviously lying.

So the day ended as such. I took plenty of photos with nearly all of my classmates, plus some adorable friends I’ve met along the way (in school).

It is really true, what the seniors say about secondary school.
They are the best times of your life.


DSC00647.JPG
(Miss Ang! and I. Greatest math guru alive. Trust me on this juniors. Look out for Miss Chong and Madam Lee too. The formidable mathematics trio.)

Shoutout to 4E3 ’08:
See you guys on results day! Never give up dreaming people, optimism’s the key to success. Really.

Shoutout to the teachers:
I wish Mrs Tai was there to take a photo with me. Also, I would taken one with Miss Chew and Mrs Peng in it. Well, if I could (take a photo) with all the teachers, that would have been swell. 🙂

P.S. Other photos will be posted the moment I get them. Bi Yu! 😀 Oh and Tasya too. Holler!

6 Responses to "Our (almost) Final Goodbye"

Hey! WHERE’S THAT PIC OF ME, MY FACE, AND MY BEAUTIFUL JACKET/HAIR??! 😀

yeah, britbrit is fab isnt she. paris, bitch, you aint so bad either. hug hug kiss kiss.

blog about red!

wait i didnt see the red post. *pouts

To loobiloo:

Dear KSW (Korean Star Wannabe),
if you want your pimpin’ shot to be posted on this page, you have to send it to me.

I intend to post another post (wow. numerous ‘post’s in a sentence) on prom with more photos of you and Jeremy and those which I’ve missed out.

You will be getting your 5 seconds of flame fame.
Patience Shawn, patience.

To Britney:

Britney baby! (blows kisses)
Okay! Like stay away from me girrrllll.
By the way, I did blog about red. Scroll all the way down britbrit.

Remember man-izer!
In the ayer too woman.

Don’t forget about me when you are famous (again)! Don’t go all schoolgirl like Oops I Did I Again. That song, is sooo like last yearrrr.

Ohmygod. I think I got a broken nail from typing all of this. Girl, you know what this means… MANICURE!

Call me Britney. Call me!

Love,
Paris.
xoxoxo

hey! i see my face too!! *grabs*
=D

Leave a Reply

